Skip to Main Content

Jesse L. Goodman

Jesse Goodman, M.D., M.P.H., is a Senior Scholar with the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law. He directs Georgetown COMPASS, a new Center which focuses on informing science based policy to address public health needs in product development and access, the supply chain, and antimicrobial resistance. Until February 2014 he was the Chief Scientist of the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), a position he assumed in 2009 along with Deputy Commissioner for Science and Public Health (2009-2012). As Chief Scientist he had broad responsibility for strategic leadership and coordination of FDA’s crosscutting scientific and public health efforts, including developing and implementing FDA’s Strategic Plan for Regulatory Science, as well as leading FDA’s public health preparedness and medical countermeasures efforts. In this role he led the 2009 H1N1 pandemic response and the medical countermeasure review for FDA, also serving as a member of the HHS Senior Leadership team.

From 2003 to 2009, Dr. Goodman was director of FDA’s Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER), which oversees activities critical to U.S. and global preparedness and the development, evaluation, safety, quality, and availability of blood, vaccines, gene and cell therapies and other biologics. As Senior Advisor to the Commissioner in 1998-2000, he initiated and co-chaired the United States Task Force on Antimicrobial Resistance which produced the nation’s first Public Health Action Plan to Combat Antimicrobial Resistance. A graduate of Harvard, Dr. Goodman received his M.D. from the Albert Einstein and did residency and fellowship training in Medicine, Infectious Diseases and Oncology at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania and at the University of California in Los Angeles (UCLA), where he was also Chief Medical Resident. Prior to his service at FDA, he was Professor of Medicine and Chief of Infectious Diseases at the University of Minnesota.

He has served on numerous Boards and Committees for organizations including CDC, NIH, WHO and NIEHS and has been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation and to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.